NEWS

NKU Norse To Be Broadcast On ESPN

Friday, Aug 19, 2016

Northern Kentucky University athletics will broadcast 21 contests this fall on ESPN3. Seven events each from men's soccer, women's soccer and volleyball will all be broadcast live nationally on the Worldwide Leader in Sports’ digital network.

Men’s soccer debuts the first event of 2016 on ESPN3 when it hosts Kentucky for an exhibition match on Sunday, Aug. 21 at 7 p.m. Matches against Eastern Illinois and Horizon League foe Milwaukee will also be featured.

“It is amazing that men’s soccer and other NKU athletic teams have the opportunity to have some of our contests streamed around the nation,” said head men’s soccer coach John Basalyga. “This exposure will hopefully attract potential recruits from all parts of the United States as well as across the globe.”

Norse women’s soccer has seven home events on the 2016 slate, all set to air on ESPN3. Both soccer programs will have back-to-back events carried live on ESPN3 as the teams take part in four doubleheaders throughout the season on Sept. 24, 28 and Oct. 8 and 22.

“Our women’s soccer viewership numbers from the 2015 ESPN broadcasts were absolutely outstanding. There is a high level of interest in soccer and the visibility of soccer is strong and growing,” said head women’s soccer coach Bob Sheehan. “With our entire home women’s soccer schedule set to be broadcast on ESPN3, we will be able to provide our student-athletes with national exposure throughout the entire season.”

Volleyball can first be seen on ESPN3 on Friday, Sept. 30 when the Norse host defending Horizon League champion Cleveland State in their home opener. Each of volleyball’s seven broadcasted events are against League foes, as all but one home event will be carried live.

“We are excited the majority of our home matches will be broadcasted on ESPN3 again. These broadcasts allow our players’ parents and program supporters to be able to watch our matches along with our recruits across the region,” said head volleyball coach Liz Hart. “The ESPN3 platform helps our program gain national exposure by showcasing our style of play and success we have had throughout the past years.”

Fall ESPN3 Broadcast Schedule

Men’s Soccer

Sunday, Aug. 21 – 7 p.m. – Kentucky (Exhibition)

Friday, Aug. 26 – 7 p.m. – Eastern Illinois

Saturday, Sept. 17 – 7 p.m. – Milwaukee

Saturday, Sept. 24 - 4:30 p.m. – Wright State (DH)

Wednesday, Sept. 28 - 4:30 p.m. – Cincinnati (DH)

Saturday, Oct. 8 - 7:30 p.m. – Cleveland State (DH)

Saturday, Oct. 22 - 7:30 p.m. – Detroit (DH)

Women’s Soccer

Monday, Aug. 28 – 7 p.m. - Morehead State

Sunday, Sept. 18 – 1 p.m. – Robert Morris

Saturday, Sept. 24 – 7:30 p.m. – Milwaukee (DH)

Wednesday, Sept. 28 – 7:30 p.m. – Oakland (DH)

Saturday, Oct. 8 – 4:30 p.m. - Youngstown State (DH)

Saturday, Oct. 22 – 4:30 p.m. – Detroit (DH)

Friday, Oct. 28 – 7 p.m. – Valpo

Volleyball

Friday, Sept. 30 – 6 p.m. – Cleveland State

Saturday, Oct. 1 – 4 p.m. – Oakland

Friday Oct. 7 – 7 p.m. - Valpo

Saturday, Oct. 15 – 4 p.m. – UIC

Sunday, Oct. 23 – 4 p.m. – Wright State

Fri., Nov. 4 – 6 p.m. - Green Bay

Sat., Nov. 5 – 4 p.m. - Milwaukee

 

Source : cincinnati.com

Other News