Industry Press Releases

Scripps Newsrooms Win Three National Edward R. Murrow Awards

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2015

Three media brands owned by The E.W. Scripps Company (NYSE: SSP) are National Edward R. Murrow Award winners. The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) today announced the following honors:

  • •    WTMJ, the Milwaukee NBC affiliate's website,, for Best Local News Website, Large Market
  • •    Newsy, Columbia, Missouri, a digital video news service, for Best Documentary, Small Market
  • •    KTTS-FM, Springfield, Missouri, for Best Newscast, Small Market

For WTMJ, the national award follows two consecutive years in which the station won a regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Local News Website.

"Our team is thrilled by this recognition from the RTDNA," said Joe Poss, vice president and general manager of WTMJ-TV. "Our focus online is the same as it is on air; to bring our local news consumers the best, most accurate content every day."

For Newsy, the national Murrow is for "The War and Money Project." It is the second straight win in the documentary category. In 2014, Newsy received a national Murrow for "Guns and the Heartland."

"With this documentary, Newsy created an interactive experience that rewards our audiences with extensive information built on well-researched facts," said Adam Symson, chief digital officer for Scripps. "It tracks the history of our nation's military and provides for a customized story based on each individual's interests. This kind of personalized journalism is both industry-leading and impressive. To win back-to-back national Murrow awards testifies to Newsy's high caliber of journalism."

For KTTS, the winning newscast came from the station's coverage of a local story involving an abduction and murder.

"This is an award that truly speaks to the outstanding work our team does to serve our listeners," said Don Louzader, news director for KTTS. "It is a responsibility we take seriously each time we turn on the microphone or post a story."

This is the second national Murrow for the KTTS team. The first came in 2012 for "continuing coverage" of the Joplin, Missouri, tornado.

RTDNA will hold an awards ceremony on Oct. 12 in New York City.

About Scripps  

The E.W. Scripps Company serves audiences and businesses through a growing portfolio of television, radio and digital media brands. Scripps is one of the nation's largest independent TV station owners, with 33 television stations in 24 markets and a reach of nearly one in five U.S. households. It also owns 34 radio stations in eight markets. When Scripps and the former Journal Communications merged their broadcast assets in early 2015, they also spun off their respective newspapers, creating a new public company, Journal Media Group. Scripps also runs an expanding collection of local and national digital journalism and information businesses, including mobile video news service Newsy and weather app developer WeatherSphere. Scripps also produces television shows including The List and The Now, runs an award-winning investigative reporting newsroom in Washington, D.C., and serves as the long-time steward of the nation's largest, most successful and longest-running educational program, the Scripps National Spelling Bee. Founded in 1878, Scripps has held for decades to the motto, "Give light and the people will find their own way."

Other Press Releases